Sunday, January 13, 2008

The Indy Awards for Excellence in Mass Communication 2008

Daily News & Analysis (DNA)

Jan. 14, 2008

MUMBAI: After the ABBY awards for advertising, can the INDY awards for mass communications be far behind? This new, all-encompassing “Awards for Excellence in Mass Communication” made its debut before a glittering audience of ad, media and publishing luminaries on January 12, 2007, at Taj Land’s End hotel, Mumbai.

Jonathan Peters and Rayka Rogers, founders of Stars of the Industry Awards, launched the Indy’s here. Slated to be an annual awards, the Indy’s 2007 was co-sponsored by Daily News & Analysis (DNA) newspaper.

The aim is to make these awards even bigger next year. If anything, the debut of such an award which sweeps across all sections and aspects of communications is testimony to a proliferating media age. It will hence honour excellence in “mass communication” , including fields like advertising, media planning and buying and public relations.

Who won what at Indy 2007

Indys 2007 started with a bang for Lowe: R Balakrishnan, national creative director, Lowe, was the recipient of the “Creative Professional of the Year” award, while the award for the “Agency of the Year” was bagged by Lowe.

Separate awards were given to various media personalities of the year in their domains. These included A P Parigi for Radio; Girish Agarwal for Print; Pradeep Guha for Television; and Sanjeev Bikchandani in the Internet space. The award for the News Channel of the Year went to NDTV 24x7, while Zoom bagged the Fashion Channel of the Year award. Various industry stalwarts were inducted into the Hall of Fame. This golden roster included celebrated names like Amit Khanna, Prasoon Joshi, Sam Balsara, Marzban Patel and Ajay Chandwani. Personalities from the film industry also got lauded at Indy’s 2007. Raju Hirani and Vidhu Vinod Chopra walked away with the Film Director and Film Maker of the Year, respectively.

The “Most Creative ads on TV” across various categories went to: Personal-Non Durables - Surf Excel; Beverages - 7Up; Dairy Products - Amul; Finance/Banking and Insurance industry - ICICI Bank and SBI; Corporate TV Commercial - Aditya Birla Group; and the Best Brand-Building campaign - Pidilite.

Kuoni Travel India won in travel/hotel and leisure. The Most Creative ad for other media categories in Personal - Non Durables went to Godrej Saralee. Clients also received their share of the spotlight: the award for most creative ad in fashion and lifestyle went to Titan, most creative ad in Personal - Durables category was bagged by Motorola, and Award for most creative ad in Food and Confectionary category went to Lays.

Seminar on industry trends

A seminar on ‘Trends in Marketing, Advertising and Public Relations’ preceded the awards ceremony. Professor Sushi Bahl, director, Indira School of Communication, flagged off the seminar with a talk on the proliferation of new media and its all pervasive-presence in our lives.

Ashutosh Bishnoy, publishing director, Reader’s Digest, said in his talk: “Direct marketing is the way forward for brands”, and explained about how DM had helped Reader’s Digest. Pramod Dabke, GM, marketing, DNA, made a presentation on the journey of the newspaper till date.

Ajay Chandwani, CEO, PerceptH, in his presentation, illustrated the power of advertisements by showing some international ads like those for Honda and Sony, as well as local ads for Happydent White and Xbox 360.

Here’s to the INDY.

No comments: