Friday, January 1, 2016

IOTY15: Troublemaker of the Year

Troublemaker of the year is one of our favorite categories for the annual IOTY - the annual award given to people who have caused great harm to the country by simply being themselves. This year's nominees are quite a distinguished bunch:

  • Arvind Kejriwal, CM of Delhi, and a megalomaniac who took it upon himself to live-tweet a CBI raid in his Secretary's office, and finish off with one of the most tasteless comments. He single-handedly brought down politics to a new low. 
  • Pakistan Tourism Promoters, an assorted bunch of politicians, babas, and sadhvis, including BJP President Amit Shah, who needlessly bring in Pakistan to end all discussion, and would probably export half the population there if they could. 
  • The Delhi Media, collectively NDTV, IBN, Times Now, News X, India Today, and others, who excelled at the art of lying, spreading hate, doctoring interviews, and manufacturing controversies. The media today stands at its lowest level of credibility in history - known by the nickname #Presstitutes. Although the award is given collectively, it is primarily meant for Srinivasan Jain and his doctored interview of Baba Ramdev. 
  • Mani Shankar Aiyar, back on the list after his chaiwala remark, this time for going to Pakistan and asking it (government/military/people?) to overthrow the Modi government and install a Congress government in India. 
  • Award Wapsi Gang, a band of so-called artists who have been feeding off the state for decades, and who took it upon themselves to return awards (some deserved, mostly undeserved) to reinforce the false narrative of growing intolerance in the country, all to pin down Narendra Modi. The distinguished list includes Nayantara Sahgal, Arundati Roy, and Dibakar Banerjee. Moreover, they also forced others to join them. 
It is a very difficult list to choose from this year. A notable name missing from the list is Aamir Khan for his intolerance remark, because that was lumped together with the nomination for the Delhi media. Who will one this year's award? Find out soon. 

Opinions 24x7 Presents
Indian of the Year 2015
Coming Soon...

1 comment:

rohit gupta said...

If there is weightage for reader's choice in the selection of Trouble maker of the year award then i would like to vote for the award wapsi gang.